Skip to School of Humanities and Global Studies (HGS) site navigationSkip to main content



The Jane Addams Papers Project is a scholarly editing project that will publish the papers of American social worker and Progressive icon Jane Addams (1860-1935) in digital and print. The Project will digitize correspondence and writings covering the years 1901-1935, making them freely available and searchable on the project’s website. It will provide context for the documents by adding identifications of people, places, events, and organizations, and will undertake an updated search for additional Addams materials and add them to the digital edition. It will also complete Volumes 4-6 of the Selected Papers of Jane Addams covering 1901-1935. An overarching aim of the project is to serve as a lab for Ramapo students to gain practical experience in historical research, writing, public history, and digital humanities.


The Jane Addams Papers Project was founded in 1975 by Mary Lynn Bryan at the University of Illinois at Chicago, later moving to Duke University. Bryan, Nancy Slote, and Maree de Angury conducted an intensive search for Addams’ documents, publishing the 82-reel Jane Addams Papers microfilm edition in 1985 and a detailed guide and index in 1993 (University Microfilms International). The Project will complete three volumes of the planned six-volume Selected Papers of Jane Addams, covering the years 1860-1900 (University of Illinois Press). With the completion of Volume 3, editors Bryan and Maree de Angury plan to retire. Dr. Cathy Moran Hajo was invited to complete the project and brought it to Ramapo College in 2015.

Jane Addams Papers Project

Dr. Cathy Moran Hajo, Editor and Director
Office:     A-217
Phone:   201-684-7741


Cathy Moran Hajo, Editor and Director
Victoria Sciancalepore Assistant Editor
Ellen Skerrett, Researcher

Advisory Board: Mary Lynn Bryan, Wendy Chmielewski, Marilyn Fischer, Ann D. Gordon, Esther Katz, Donna Lane-Baur, Louise W. Knight, Patrick Murray-John, Carter Jones Meyer, Susan Hangen, Rima Lunin Schultz, and Stacie Taranto.