Skip to Provost site navigationSkip to main content

Virtual Tour

  Message from the Provost

Ramapo College is New Jersey’s Public Liberal Arts College, dedicated to providing students a strong foundation for a lifetime of achievement. The College is committed to academic excellence through interdisciplinary and experiential learning, and international and intercultural understanding. Ramapo emphasizes teaching and individual attention to all students. We promote diversity, inclusiveness, sustainability, student engagement, and community involvement. 

 

Dear Ramapo College Faculty & Students:

First and foremost, I hope you and your loved ones are doing well despite the stressful and challenging circumstances we now face. I know that many of us are disappointed that in-person classes cannot resume because of the NJ Governor’s Executive Order, but please be assured that we are all working hard to make sure that meaningful learning experiences will occur for the rest of Spring 2020. Our primary focus is on ensuring that students will continue to make academic progress and be provided necessary support services including tutoring and advising, as well as have access to their faculty. This will be accomplished through remote, off-campus methods using various instructional technologies.

It is important for you to be open-minded about the remote coursework delivery that will occur beginning Monday, March 23, 2020. While you may be unfamiliar with remote delivery or remote learning, we have many resources in place to help including the Information Technology Services (ITS) Helpdesk staff who can help virtually troubleshoot common computer hardware and software issues and the Instructional Design Center staff who are well-prepared to provide remote help to those of you who need assistance with instructional technologies.

In addition, Ramapo College has approved the adoption of an emergency Spring 2020 Pass/Fail Grading Option Policy and related Procedures. It is my hope that having this Spring 2020 pass/fail (P/F) grading option will reassure our students and help alleviate some of the stress resulting from the unforeseen and unavoidable disruption caused by the global COVID-19 pandemic this semester. I appreciate the patience everyone exhibited while the details of the policy and procedures were being worked out. While our primary concern is the health and safety of all Ramapo community members, we are fully committed to ensuring that our students can continue to make academic progress and stay on track to achieve their academic goals and ultimately graduate from Ramapo College.

Grading options that are available to Ramapo undergraduate and graduate students for classes taken in the Spring 2020 semester are presented in detail HereStudents are strongly encouraged to consult with their  professors, advisor, school Dean, the Office of Financial Aid, and others before making their decision to opt into P/F grading mode for one, several, or all of their eligible spring 2020 classes.

Please be aware of the many resources available to you at Ramapo College, some of which are listed below.

I know it is difficult and disappointing for us to not be on campus or to be able to gather with colleagues, classmates, and friends, but we must remember that staying off-campus/home and avoiding non-household gatherings prevents community spread of COVID-19 and contributes toward “flattening the curve.” Please be well and stay healthy!

 

Best,

Dr. Susan Gaulden

Interim Provost / Vice President for Academic Affairs

 

 

Ramapo

Recent Announcements

2020

April

March


Announcements Archive

Ramapo

Susan Gaulden
Interim Provost / Vice President for Academic Affairs
Phone: (201) 684-7532
E-mail: provost@ramapo.edu

TBD
Vice Provost for Academic Programs
Phone: (201) 684-7585
E-mail:

Clare Naporano
Assistant Director of Academic Affairs
Phone: (201) 684-7529
E-mail: cnaporan@ramapo.edu

Joan Capizzi
Executive Secretarial Assistant
Phone: (201) 684-7330
E-mail: jcapizzi@ramapo.edu

Ann Marie Stangl
Secretarial Assistant 1
Phone: (201) 684-7515
E-mail:astangl@ramapo.edu

Diane Couzens
Special Assistant
Phone: (201) 684-7532
E-mail: dcouzens@ramapo.edu

return to top Return to Top Icon

Provost's Office Contacts

Susan Gaulden
Interim Provost / Vice President for Academic Affairs
Phone: (201) 684-7532
E-mail: provost@ramapo.edu

TBD
Vice Provost for Academic Programs
Phone: (201) 684-7585
E-mail:
 

Ben Levy
Director Roukema Center for International Education
Phone: (201) 684-7806
E-mail: blevy1@ramapo.edu
Roukema Center Website

Gurvinder Khaneja
Director Institutional Research
Phone: (201) 684-7766
E-mail: gkhaneja@ramapo.edu
Institutional Research

Rebecca Root
Director Honors Program
Phone: (201) 684-7429
E-mail: rroot@ramapo.edu
College Honors Website

 

Leigh Cregan Keller
Interim Director – George T. Potter Library
Phone: (201) 684-7316
E-mail: lkeller1@ramapo.edu
George T. Potter Library

 

 

Dorothy Echols Tobe
Chief Planning Officer
Phone: (201) 684-7008
E-mail: dechols@ramapo.edu

Fernanda Papalia
Registrar
Phone: (201) 684-7321
E-mail: fpapalia@ramapo.edu
Office of the Registrar

 

Michael Bitz
Director – Instructional Design Center
Phone: (201) 684-7369
E-mail: mbitz@ramapo.edu
Instructional Design Center

Tammi Redd
Director – Faculty Resource Center
Phone: (201) 684-7356
E-mail: tredd@ramapo.edu
Faculty Resource Center

 

Yvette Kisor
Director – First Year Seminar
Phone: (201) 684-6212
E-mail: ykisor@ramapo.edu
First Year Seminar

 

Michael Unger
Director of Assessment
Phone: (201) 684-7761
E-mail: unger@ramapo.edu
Assessment of Student Learning

 

Deans

Susan Hangen
Interim Dean for the School of Humanities and Global Studies
Phone: (201) 684-7406
E-mail: shangen@ramapo.edu
School of Humanities and Global Studies Website

Peter Campbell
Interim Dean for School of Contemporary Arts
Phone: (201) 684-7363
E-mail: pcampbel@ramapo.edu
School of Contemporary Arts Website

Edward Saiff
Interim Dean for School of Theoretical and Applied Science
Phone: (201) 684-7734
E-mail: esaiff@ramapo.edu
Theoretical and Applied Science Website

Aaron Lorenz
Dean for School of Social Science and Human Services
Phone: (201) 684-7624
E-mail: alorenz@ramapo.edu
Social Science and Human Services Website

Edward Petkus
Dean of Anisfield School of Business
Phone: (201) 684-7377
E-mail:epetkus@ramapo.edu
Anisfield School of Business Website