Skip to main content

President’s Post #103: Tenure and Emeritus

Dear Students, Colleagues, and Friends:

At its December 12 meeting, the Board of Trustees approved the granting of tenure to seven faculty members and the awarding of emeritus status to four retired professors.

To borrow from the American Association of University Professors, “The principal purpose of tenure is to safeguard academic freedom, which is necessary for all who teach and conduct research in higher education…Free inquiry, free expression, and open dissent are critical for student learning and the advancement of knowledge. Therefore, it is important to have systems in place to protect academic freedom.” As a professor and an administrator, I know of the dedication and talent required to earn tenure.

More..

Ramapo

Special Events

Speeches

Multimedia

President's Cabinet (Details)

Peter Philip Mercer, L.L.B., Ph.D.
President
Phone: (201) 684-7607
E-mail: president@ramapo.edu

Beth E. Barnett, Ed.D.
Provost/ Vice President for Academic Affairs
Phone: (201) 684-7529
E-mail: bbarnett@ramapo.edu

Kirsten DaSilva, C.P.A.
Vice President of Administration and Finance
Phone: (201) 684-7621
E-mail: kdasilv1@ramapo.edu

Cathleen Davey, M.A.
Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Executive Director of the Ramapo Foundation
Phone: (201) 684-7611
E-mail: cdavey@ramapo.edu

Nicole Morgan Agard, Esq. 
Chief Equity and Diversity Officer, Director of Employee Relations
Phone: (201) 684-7503
E-mail: nmagard@ramapo.edu

Christopher Romano, Ed.M
Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
Phone: (201) 684-7309
E-mail: cromano@ramapo.edu

Michael A. Tripodi, Esq.
Vice President & General Counsel
Phone: (201) 684-6975
Email: mtripodi@ramapo.edu

Brittany A. Williams-Goldstein, M.S.Ed.
Chief of Staff & Board Liaison
Phone: (201) 684-7609
E-mail: bwillia1@ramapo.edu

President's Office Staff (Details)

Patricia Chavez, M-208
Director of Internal Audit and Custodian of Public Records; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-7622; E-mail: pchavez@ramapo.edu

Marie Ciampi, M-215
Secretarial Assistant; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-7537
E-mail: mciampi@ramapo.edu

Janet Faber, D-107
Assistant Director of Employee Relations/Deputy Ethics Liaison Officer; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-7504; E-mail: jfaber@ramapo.edu

Anna Farneski, M-209
Assistant Vice President of Government Relations; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-6844
E-mail: afarnesk@ramapo.edu

Sara Gazzillo, M-202
Executive Assistant to the President; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-7610
E-mail: sgazzill@ramapo.edu

Adrienne Lioy, D-103
Office Assistant; Office of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-6693
E-mail: alioy@ramapo.edu

Kat McGee, ASB017
Title IX Coordinator/Director of Compliance; Office of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-7220
E-mail: kmcgee@ramapo.edu  https://www.ramapo.edu/affirmaction/

Nicole Morgan Agard, D-106
Chief Equity and Diversity Officer/Director of Employee Relations; Office of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-7503
E-mail: nmagard@ramapo.edu

Stephanie A. Scheeler, CMP, M202A
Event Planner, Presidential Facilities and Special Events; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-7850
E-mail: sscheele@ramapo.edu    https://www.ramapo.edu/president/special-events/

Michael A. Tripodi, Esq., M206
Vice President & General Counsel; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-6975
Email: mtripodi@ramapo.edu

Brittany A. Williams-Goldstein, M202
Chief of Staff & Board Liaison; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-7609
E-mail: bwillia1@ramapo.edu  https://www.ramapo.edu/board

John Woods, Lodge 122
College Ombudsperson; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-7804
E-mail: jwoods1@ramapo.edu   https://www.ramapo.edu/ombuds/