Skip to main content

President’s Post #150: Fall 2019 State of the College Address

Below is a summary of President Mercer’s Fall 2019 State of the College Address.

This is my 29th State of the College Address and over time, certain patterns emerge. Among them is that money is at the root of mostly everything. Current funding remains inadequate. We are all looking over our shoulders. The money in your pocket never looks as good as the money in someone else’s pocket. The New York Times recently reported that one quarter of all private colleges in the U.S. are running in a deficit position—they are not bringing in as much as they are spending and they are depleting their endowments to balance their budgets. This is not sustainable. It signals a pending implosion. Higher education institutions, including Ramapo, must operate more efficiently and more strategically and doing so cannot wait until the next academic year. Innovative programs and practices that deliver on our mission, are inclusive, and are informed by data are essential to our continued progress and success.

Read More…

Special Events

2021 Presidential Search

Speeches

Take me to the Dictionary of Newfoundland English     (Image source: Adventure Canada.com)

Multimedia

President's Cabinet (Details)

Peter Philip Mercer, J.D., L.L.M., Ph.D.
President
Phone: (201) 684-7607
E-mail: president@ramapo.edu

Stefan Becker, Dr. rer. nat.
Provost/ Vice President for Academic Affairs
Phone: (201) 684-7529
E-mail: sbecker@ramapo.edu

Cathleen Davey, M.A. 
Vice President for Institutional Advancement, Executive Director of the Ramapo Foundation
Phone: (201) 684-7611 

E-mail: cdavey@ramapo.edu

Kirsten Loewrigkeit, C.P.A.
Vice President of Administration and Finance
Phone: (201) 684-7621
E-mail: kloewrig@ramapo.edu

Nicole Morgan Agard, Esq. 
Chief Equity and Diversity Officer
Phone: (201) 684-7503
E-mail: nmagard@ramapo.edu

Christopher Romano, Ed.M
Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs
Phone: (201) 684-7309
E-mail: cromano@ramapo.edu

Michael A. Tripodi, Esq.
Vice President & General Counsel
Phone: (201) 684-6975
Email: mtripodi@ramapo.edu

Brittany A. Williams-Goldstein, Ed.D.
Chief of Staff & Board Liaison
Phone: (201) 684-7609
E-mail: bwillia1@ramapo.edu

President's Office Staff (Details)

Patricia Chavez, M208
Director of Internal Audit and Custodian of Public Records
Phone: (201) 684-7622
E-mail: pchavez@ramapo.edu

Marie Ciampi, Notary Public, M215
Secretarial Assistant; Office of the President
Phone: (201) 684-7537
E-mail: mciampi@ramapo.edu

Elizabeth Fanelli
Associate Investigator; Office of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-7286
E-mail: efanelli@ramapo.edu

 

 

Sara Gazzillo, M202
Executive Assistant to the President
Phone: (201) 684-7610
E-mail: sgazzill@ramapo.edu

Marva Hawkins, D104C
Director of Affirmative Action & Workplace Compliance; Office of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-7540
E-mail: mhawkin1@ramapo.edu

Kat McGee, J.D., D104A
Director of Title IX, ADA, and Compliance Training; Office of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-7220
E-mail: kmcgee@ramapo.edu

Nicole Morgan Agard, Esq., D106
Chief Equity and Diversity Officer; Office of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-7503
E-mail: nmagard@ramapo.edu

Jineane Miller Lajam, D105
Program Assistant; Office of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion & Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-6693
E-mail: jmiller1@ramapo.edu

Patrick O’Connor, MA, E115
Government Relations Officer
Phone: (201) 684-6844
E-mail: poconnor@ramapo.edu

A. Tamika Quick, MA, D104B
Associate Director of Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Compliance
Phone: (201) 684-7487
E-mail: aquick@ramapo.edu

Stephanie A. Scheeler, CMP, M222
Director of Special Events and Presidential Facilities
Phone: (201) 684-7850
E-mail: sscheele@ramapo.edu

Michael A. Tripodi, Esq., M206
Vice President & General Counsel
Phone: (201) 684-6975
Email: mtripodi@ramapo.edu

Brittany A. Williams-Goldstein, Ed.D., M201
Chief of Staff & Board Liaison
Phone: (201) 684-7609
E-mail: bwillia1@ramapo.edu

John Woods, Esq., Lodge122
College Ombudsperson
Phone: (201) 684-7804
E-mail: jwoods1@ramapo.edu