Skip to School of Humanities and Global Studies (HGS) site navigationSkip to main content

Some information about the faulty teaching English and Literary Studies.
Ramapo college has a unique structure. Rather than offer an “English Major,” we offer a “English & Literary Studies Major.” There is no “English Department.” Ramapo has a “Literature Convening Group” headed by the Literature Convener. Our unique nomenclature is intended to communicate our focus on World Literature, rather than a narrower British and American focus.
Our small class size means that students get to work closely with our faculty, who publish regularly in their field of expertise.
The major is offered by the School of Humanities and Global Studies and leads to a B.A. degree.



Rosetta D'Angelo
Professor of Italian

Year Joined RCNJ: 1986
Phone: (201) 684-7408
Email: rdangelo@ramapo.edu
Office: B-205
Office Hours: MR 1:00-2:00 pm Via Webex


Monika Giacoppe
Associate Professor of Comparative World Literature

Year Joined RCNJ: 2000
Phone: (201) 684-7750
Email: mgiacopp@ramapo.edu
Office: B-208
Office Hours: T 2:15-3:15 pm, 5:00-6:00 pm; F By Appt Via Webex
Department Website


Indya Jackson
Assistant Professor of African American Literature

Year Joined RCNJ: 2020
Phone: 201-684-7207
Email: ijackso2@ramapo.edu
Office: B-143B
Office Hours: R 2:00-5:00 pm


Yvette Kisor
Professor of Literature

Year Joined RCNJ: 2004
Phone: (201) 684-6212
Email: ykisor@ramapo.edu
Office: B-142
Office Hours: TF 1:45-3:15 pm
Personal Website
Department Website


Hugh Sheehy
Associate Professor of Creative Writing/Literature

Year Joined RCNJ: 2013
Phone: 201-684-7245
Email: hsheehy@ramapo.edu
Office: B-134
Office Hours: On Leave for Fall 2021


Lisa WilliamsLisa Williams
Professor of Literature

Year Joined RCNJ: 1996
Phone: (201) 684-7278
Email: liwillia@ramapo.edu
Office: B-139
Office Hours: MR 9:45-11:15 am, 5:50-6:05 pm; Also By Appt.
Department Website




Todd Landon Barnes
Associate Professor of Literature

Year Joined RCNJ: 2010
Phone: (201) 684-7180
Email: tbarnes1@ramapo.edu
Office: B-141
Office Hours: E-mail for Appointment


Eric Daffron
Professor of Literature

Year Joined RCNJ: 2010
Phone: 201-684-7835
Email: edaffron@ramapo.edu
Office: B-138
Office Hours: T 3:25-4:25 pm; F 3:00-5:00 pm (Via WebEx)


Vassiliki Flenga
Associate Professor of French

Year Joined RCNJ: 1998
Phone: (201) 684- 7417
Email: vflenga@ramapo.edu
Office: B-133
Office Hours: MR 4:00-5:30 pm
Department Website


James HochJames Hoch
Professor of Creative Writing

Year Joined RCNJ: 2006
Phone: (201) 684-7244
Email: jhoch1@ramapo.edu
Office: B-135
Office Hours: MR 1:00-2:00 pm; Also By Appt.
Personal Website
Department Website


Edward ShannonEdward Shannon
Professor of Literature

Year Joined RCNJ: 1997
Phone: (201) 684-7425
Email: eshannon@ramapo.edu
Office: B-207
Office Hours: MR 11:00-1:30 pm
Department Website


Paula D. Straile-Costa
Associate Professor of Spanish

Year Joined RCNJ: 2003
Phone: (201) 684-7195
Email: pstraile@ramapo.edu
Office: B-206
Office Hours: T 2:00-3:00 pm; F 2:00-3:30 pm (WEbEx); Also By Appt.