Skip to School of Humanities and Global Studies (HGS) site navigationSkip to main content

Roark Atkinson
Associate Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2008
Phone: (201) 684-7237
Email: atkinson@ramapo.edu
Office: B-222
Office Hours: W 4:30-7:30 pm; Also By Appt

David Colman
Associate Professor of African American History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2005
Phone: (201) 684-7568
Email: dcolman@ramapo.edu
Office: A-215
Office Hours: E-mail for Appointment

Paul Elovitz
Associate Professor of History, Psychohistory and Interdisciplinary Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 1971 as a Founding Faculty Member
Phone: (201) 684-7415
Email: pelovitz@ramapo.edu
Office: B-201
Office Hours: E-mail for Appointment

John Gronbeck-TedescoJohn Gronbeck-Tedesco
Associate Professor of American Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 2010
Phone: (201) 684-7241
Email: jgronbec@ramapo.edu
Office: B-214
Office Hours: E-mail for Appointment

Cathy Moran HajoCathy Moran Hajo
Director of the Jane Addams Papers Project

Year Joined RCNJ: 2015
Phone: (201) 684-7741
Email: chajo@ramapo.edu
Office: A-217
Office Hours: MR 9:00-10:30 am; F 1:00-2:00 pm; Also By Appt.

Karl JohnsonKarl Ellis Johnson
Associate Professor of African American Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 2002
Phone: (201) 684-7798
Email: kjohnson@ramapo.edu
Office: B-136
Office Hours: E-mail for Appointment

Pinar Kayaalp
Professor of Islamic and Middle Eastern History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2008
Phone: (201) 684-6211
Email: pkayaalp@ramapo.edu
Office: B-215
Office Hours: MWR 1:00-2:00 pm; Also By Appt.

Sarah Koenig
Assistant Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2018
Phone: (201) 684-7474
Email: skoenig1@ramapo.edu
Office: B-204
Office Hours: MR 10:00–11:00am (In person); W 11:00–12:00 pm (Virtual)

Tae Yang Kwak
Associate Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2007
Phone: (201) 684-7216
Email: tkwak@ramapo.edu
Office: A-208
Office Hours: MWR 3:00-4:00 pm by appointment

Sam Ali Mustafa
Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2001
Phone: (201) 684-7410
Email: smustafa@ramapo.edu
Office: A-210
Office Hours: M 9:00-10:00 am; Also By Appt.

Stephen P. Rice
Professor of American Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 1996
Phone: 201-684-7802
Email: srice@ramapo.edu
Office: B-212
Office Hours: M 2:00-4:00 pm (In Person); F 10:00-11:00 am (Webex)

Ira SparIra Spar
Professor of History and Ancient Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 1974
Phone: (201) 684-7420
Email: ispar@ramapo.edu
Office: B-202
Office Hours: TF 12:00-1:30 pm; Also By Appt.

Stacie Taranto
Associate Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2010
Phone: (201) 684-7735
Email: staranto@ramapo.edu
Office: A-211
Office Hours: E-mail for Appointment

Alexander UrbielAlexander Urbiel
Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 1996
Phone: (201) 684-7794
Email: aurbiel@ramapo.edu
Office: E-226
Office Hours: By Appointment

Convener

Stacie Taranto
Associate Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2010
Phone: (201) 684-7735
Email: staranto@ramapo.edu
Office: A-211
Office Hours: E-mail for Appointment

Co-Convener (contact Professor Taranto regarding program administration)

Sam Ali Mustafa
Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2001
Phone: (201) 684-7410
Email: smustafa@ramapo.edu
Office: A-210
Office Hours: M 9:00-10:00 am; Also By Appt.

Co-Convener (contact Professor Mustafa regarding student inquiries)

Emeritus Faculty

  • Charles Carreras (PhD University of North Carolina)
  • Edward Cody (PhD Lehigh University)
  • Thomas Heed (PhD Columbia University)
  • Sydney S. Weinberg (PhD Columbia University)