Skip to School of Humanities and Global Studies (HGS) site navigationSkip to main content

Faculty

Roark Atkinson
Associate Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2008
Phone: (201) 684-7237
Email: atkinson@ramapo.edu
Office: B-222
Office Hours: W 4:30-7:30 pm; Also By Appt

David Colman
Associate Professor of African American History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2005
Phone: (201) 684-7568
Email: dcolman@ramapo.edu
Office: A-215
Office Hours: TF 8:30-9:30 am; W 10:00-11:00 am

Paul Elovitz
Associate Professor of History, Psychohistory and Interdisciplinary Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 1971 as a Founding Faculty Member
Phone: (201) 684-7415
Email: pelovitz@ramapo.edu
Office: B-201
Office Hours: On Leave for Spring 2022

John Gronbeck-Tedesco
Associate Professor of American Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 2010
Phone: (201) 684-7241
Email: jgronbec@ramapo.edu
Office: B-214
Office Hours: MR 11:00-1:00 pm

Karl JohnsonKarl Ellis Johnson
Associate Professor of African American Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 2002
Phone: (201) 684-7798
Email: kjohnson@ramapo.edu
Office: B-136
Office Hours: On Sabbatical for Spring 2022

Pinar Kayaalp
Professor of Islamic and Middle Eastern History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2008
Phone: (201) 684-6211
Email: pkayaalp@ramapo.edu
Office: B-215
Office Hours: M 1:30-2:30 pm; R 1:30-2:30 pm; F 1:00-2:00 pm

Sarah Koenig
Assistant Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2018
Phone: (201) 684-7474
Email: skoenig1@ramapo.edu
Office: B-204
Office Hours: T 4:00-6:00 pm; R 10:00-11:00 am

Tae Yang Kwak
Associate Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2007
Phone: (201) 684-7216
Email: tkwak@ramapo.edu
Office: A-208
Office Hours: TWF 3:00-4:00 pm

Sam Ali Mustafa
Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2001
Phone: (201) 684-7410
Email: smustafa@ramapo.edu
Office: A-210
Office Hours: MR 8:30-11:00 am; Also By Appt.

Stephen P. Rice
Professor of American Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 1996
Phone: 201-684-7802
Email: srice@ramapo.edu
Office: B-212
Office Hours: MR 11:30-12:30 pm; W 10:00-11:00 am

Ira SparIra Spar
Professor of History and Ancient Studies

Year Joined RCNJ: 1974
Phone: (201) 684-7420
Email: ispar@ramapo.edu
Office: B-202
Office Hours: TF 12:00-1:30 pm

Stacie Taranto
Associate Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2010
Phone: (201) 684-7735
Email: staranto@ramapo.edu
Office: A-211
Office Hours: MR 10:00-12:00 pm

Alexander UrbielAlexander Urbiel
Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 1996
Phone: (201) 684-7794
Email: aurbiel@ramapo.edu
Office: E-226
Office Hours: By Appointment

Convener

Stacie Taranto
Associate Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2010
Phone: (201) 684-7735
Email: staranto@ramapo.edu
Office: A-211
Office Hours: MR 10:00-12:00 pm

Co-Convener (contact Professor Taranto regarding program administration)

Sam Ali Mustafa
Professor of History

Year Joined RCNJ: 2001
Phone: (201) 684-7410
Email: smustafa@ramapo.edu
Office: A-210
Office Hours: MR 8:30-11:00 am; Also By Appt.

Co-Convener (contact Professor Mustafa regarding student inquiries)

Emeritus Faculty

  • Charles Carreras (PhD University of North Carolina)
  • Edward Cody (PhD Lehigh University)
  • Thomas Heed (PhD Columbia University)
  • Sydney S. Weinberg (PhD Columbia University)