Skip to School of Theoretical and Applied Science (TAS) site navigationSkip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Chemistry Faculty:

Stephen Anderson
Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry Convener
G-408
201-684-7803
Standers@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. University of Warwick (UK), Ph.D. Imperial College London (UK)
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry, General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Advanced Inorganic Chemistry
Research Interests: Transition metal catalysis, transfer hydrogenations, Microwave reactions

Sarah Carberry
Associate Professor of Chemistry
G-405
201-684-7759
sbolton@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. SUNY Fedonia, Ph.D. Syracuse University
Courses Taught: General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Advanced Organic Chemistry, Special Topics: Spectroscopy
Research Interests: Synthesis and Characterization of organometallic Molecular wires, Alkyne Metathesis

Jay Carreon
Associate Professor of Chemistry
G-406
201-684-7710
jcarreon@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. University of California Santa Cruz, Ph.D. Boston College
Courses Taught: General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Advanced Organic Chemistry, Medicinal Chemistry
Research Interests: Synthesis of Chalcone derivatives as anti-inflammatory agents

Frank Farrell
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
G-410
201-684-7715
ffarrell@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. Villanova University, M.S. Princeton University
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry, General Chemistry
Research Interests: Quantitative Determination of Polyphenols in Natural Products, Spectroscopic Determination of Heavy Metal Polymers.

Robert Mentore
Associate Professor of Chemistry and Chemistry Convener
G-404
201-684-7696
rmentore@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. McGill University, Ph.D. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Courses Taught: General Chemistry, Physical Chemistry
Research Interests: Biomaterials Science, Surface and Colloidal Chemistry, Laser Spectroscopy

Carrie Miller
Assistant Professor of Environmental Chemistry
G-414
201-684-7752
cmiller7@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. Widener University, Ph.D. University of Maryland College Park
Courses Taught: World of Chemistry, General Chemistry, Intro to Environmental Science, Environmental Chemistry, Environmental Toxicology
Research Interests: Mercury Biogeochemical Cycling, Trace Metal Contaminants, Microplastics

Suma Somasekharan
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry
G-409
201-684-6221
ssomasek@ramapo.edu
*Education: B.S.  , Ph.D.
Courses Taught: General Chemistry, Biochemistry, Experimental Biochemistry
*Research Interests:

Loraine Tan
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
G-407
201-684-7711
ltan@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Ph.D. University of Buffalo
Courses Taught: General Chemistry, Quantitative Chemical Analysis, Instrumental Analysis
Research Interests: Characterization of Novel Fluorescent Probe Molecules, Measurement of Micelle Formation Kinetics

Chemistry Staff:

Alexa Dy
Chemistry Lab Coordinator
G-311
201-684-6615
ady@ramapo.edu

Jamie Latona
Chemistry Lab Technician
G-331
201-684-6
Jlatona2@ramapo.edu

Adjunct Faculty:

Hamdo Brkovic
hbrkovic@ramapo.edu
Education:
Courses Taught: General Chemistry LAB

Nicole Gill
ngill@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. Allegheny College, Ph.D. University of Southern Mississippi.
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry LAB

Ashley Howell
ahowell@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. Ramapo College, Ph.D. Rutgers
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry LAB, General Chemistry LAB

Marilee Karagolian
mkaragol@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. Pace University, M.S. Manhattan College
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry LAB, General Chemistry LAB, Organic Chemistry LAB

Joon Om
jom@ramapo.edu
Education:
Courses Taught: General Chemistry LAB

Deborah Rick
drick@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. Penn State University, M.S. Steven’s Institute of Technology
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry LAB, General Chemistry LAB

Ronald Schreck
rschreck@ramapo.edu
Education:
Courses Taught: Organic Chemistry LAB

Anthony Scudato
acaduto@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. Pace University, M.S. New York University
Courses Taught: Principles of Chemistry LAB, General Chemistry LAB

Shafiq Wahidi
Swahidi@ramapo.edu
Education: B.S. St. Thomas Aquinas College, M.S. Long Island University
Courses Taught: Organic Chemistry LAB