Skip to main content

Virtual Tour

This year’s Academic Achievement Ceremony
was held on ARCHING DAY
May 10, 2017 at 3:00 p.m.
in the Berrie Center Sharp Theater.

2017 Academic Achievement Ceremony.
First row, L to R: Dean Edward Petkus (ASB),  Dean Steven Perry (CA), Dean Aaron Lorenz (SSHS),
Provost Beth Barnett, Trustee George C. Ruotolo Jr, President Peter Mercer, Trustee Sharlene S. Vichness  Dean Stephen Rice (SSHGS), Dean Edward Saiff (TAS), Professor Kathleen Shannon, Ebony Jackson (Women’s Center) and  James Dygos (student).

The Academic Achievement Ceremony is held each year in May on Arching Day and acknowledges the outstanding academic achievements of undergraduate students at Ramapo College. Each year one student in each school is selected to receive an award in these categories: Outstanding Academic Achievement in a Major (prize donated by AFT), Ramapo Undergraduate Book Prize for Academic Excellence, Faculty-Student Research. Additionally, one Ramapo student campus-wide is selected for specially donated awards: AFT Graduate School Scholarship, Henry J. Frundt Memorial Scholarship, NASW Social Work Scholarship, Herbert Wortreich Award, and the Lee Sennish Award, and up to four students receive the Carol Schaefer Human Services Graduate School Award. This event is sponsored by the Office of the Provost and is by invitation only.

As we continue to admit students who are better prepared for the rigors of college, students honored at this event are more and more likely to be among the most outstanding. These students are recognized for their specific as well as more general intellectual achievements.

The Office of the Provost would like to recognize the gracious assistance of all whose work makes our acknowledgement of student achievement possible today.

We would like to thank the deans, conveners, and faculty who took the time to assess carefully the contributions of students considered for these awards.

We are especially grateful to the benefactors who contributed monetary awards: the Ramapo Federation of State College Teachers/ AFT Local 2274, Carol Schaefer/ Shepard Foundation, and others. (See program for more details.)

Our greatest appreciation is extended to those students honored today and to the many students whose achievements made the choice of honorees a difficult one. Their excellent academic achievement and co-curricular activities are the life of Ramapo College.