Skip to New Jersey Higher Education Partnership for Sustainability site navigationSkip to main content



Executive Committee, 2018

  • Ashwani Vasishth, NJHEPS President; Associate Professor of Sustainability; Director, Center for Sustainability at Ramapo College of New Jersey
  • Shana Weber, NJHEPS VP of Sustainability Operations; Past NJHEPS President; Director of Sustainability, Princeton University
  • Robert Taylor, NJHEPS VP for Education and Curriculum; Professor, Earth & Environmental Studies & Coordinator of Sustainability Science BS and MS Programs, Montclair State University
  • Michael Kornitas, NJHEPS VP Campus Energy; Director of Energy and Sustainability, Rutgers University
  • Eileen Poiani, NJHEPS VP at Large, St. Peter’s University
  • Scott Mittman, NJHEPS VP at Large; Professor, New Jersey City University
  • Donald Wheeler, NJHEPS Co-Founder & Senior Advisor; Professor Emeritus, Kean University
  • Daniela Shebitz, Sub-Committee Chair Student Relations; Associate Professor of Ecology, Kean University

Steering Committee, 2017 (pending update)

The Steering Committee is composed of representatives from NJ’s Higher Education Institutions – as designated by each member institutions’ President.

  • Essex County – Scott Mittman Professor, Environmental Microbiology NJHEPS Executive Committee, VP Research, Term 2015-2016
  • County College of Morris – Charles Lamb Director, Operations and Professional Development NJHEPS Executive Committee, VP Development, Term 2014-2016
  • The College of New Jersey – Curt Heuring Vice President for Administration
  • Kean University – Daniela Shebitz Associate Professor NJHEPS Executive Committee VP Student Relations,Term 2015-2017
  • Fairleigh Dickenson University – Joel Harmon Executive Director and Co-Founder, Institute for Sustainable Enterprise and Professor of Management, Silberman College of Business NJHEPS Education Committee Member
  • Middlesex Community College – Diane Trainor Professor, Chemistry and Environmental Science NJHEPS Executive Committee Secretary, Term 2015-2017 and Education Committee Member
  • Montclair State University – Robert Taylor Professor, Earth & Environmental Studies, Coordinator of Sustainability Science BS and MS Programs NJHEPS Executive Committee Treasurer, Term 2015-2017 and Education Committee Member
  • Monmouth University – Richard Su Director of Service Response for Special Events Department of Facilities Management

Standing Committees/Teams

Energy Technical Team:

  • Ted Borer(Chair), Manager, Mechanical Systems, Princeton University
  • Andrew Christ, Facilities, New Jersey City University
  • Donald Drost, Executive Director, Facilities Management, Middlesex County College
  • Jim Ferris, Director, Facilities Management, Monmouth University
  • John Hone, Facilities Manager, Union County College
  • Peter Jansson,Associate Professor, Rowan University
  • Donald Kasten, Manager, Technical Operations Office of Industrial Productivity & Energy Assessment, Rutgers University
  • Ken Olsen, Director of Facilities Engineering and Operations, Ocean County College
  • Norman Shapiro, Director of Facilities, Bergen Community College
  • Ron Slagle, Vice President of Operations, Berkeley College
  • Joseph Sullivan, Business Energy Ombudsperson, NJBPU
  • Kathleen Sullivan, Chancellor, Dominican College
  • Carole Trabachino, Senior Performance Assurance Specialist, Johnson Controls, Inc.
  • Lori Winyard, Director of Energy and Central Utilities, The College of New Jersey
  • Joseph Witkowski, Director, Utilities Operation, Rutgers University

Green Design Team:

  • Nicholas Fabbroni(Chair), Director of Construction, Rutgers University
  • Michael Kornitas, Energy Conservation Manager, Rutgers University
  • Bill Bobenhausen, President, Consultant, Sustainable Design Collaborative
  • Andrew Christ, Facilities, New Jersey City University
  • Gene Dubicki, Managing Assistant Director/Architect, Ramapo College of New Jersey
  • Bill Golubinski, Executive Director, Facilities Planning & Construction, Brookdale Community College
  • Thomas Lang, Construction Manager, Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
  • Jeff Livingston, Director, Facilities Design, Rutgers University
  • Lynda Rothermel, Campus Architect, The College of New Jersey
  • Richard Stomber, Director of Facility Operations, The Newark Museum

Special Interest Groups