Skip to Anisfield School of Business (ASB) site navigationSkip to main content

Upcoming Events

Mon 07
Wed 09
Mon 14

Project Management Certificate Virtual Info Session

December 14 @ 5:15 pm - 6:00 pm
Wed 16

Project Management Certificate Virtual Info Session

December 16 @ 5:15 pm - 6:00 pm
Mon 21

Project Management Certificate Virtual Info Session

December 21 @ 5:15 pm - 6:00 pm

Classes and Schedule

The Certificate consists of 96 hours of classroom instruction in 4 modules which can be completed in 16 weeks or less. You can begin the program at the start of Modules A, B, C or D. Classes start 12 times throughout the year. All lecture notes are posted online for the sessions, so a missed session or two does not adversely impact program completion.

Session are designed for students who prefer “real-time” class interaction. Currently, sessions are all synchronous online—you log-in Monday and Wednesday nights, and learn interactively. It is the same pattern of interactive lecture, interactive question drills, scheduled quizzes and exercises that you experience in our live program.

  • The 25 quizzes are written at the PMP level, are challenging and must be taken several times to pass. On average, each quiz requires 1.25 hours of diligent work, so expect to spend 31.25 hours working quizzes.
  • There are five exercises. We provide a real-world sample from the instructor’s experience, instructions and a template for each. Each of the five exercises requires two hours of diligent work.

Notes:

We currently prepare the student for both PMP exam revisions through 2021. If you plan to take the PMP exam, we estimate a grand total time commitment of 320 hours.  To help you, there are text and lecture slides to read, which support practice quiz questions.  All questions—graded and ungraded—are online.

We offer synchronous instruction in MS Project and MS Visio, since software knowledge is frequently required by employers. We provide this software for your use in virtual class. You will use this software to create and track resourced, costed project schedule models in class.

We also provide 22 hours of preparation for the PMI-Agile Certified Practitioner credential. Potential employers also expect Agile knowledge, and an increasing number of Agile questions are now appearing on the PMP exam.

Ramapo

Module Details

Agile is emphasized in Modules A, B, and C.

MODULE A - Project Management Framework—24 Contact Hours (OR MGMT472 may substitute)
  1. Definitions from the Project Management Institute
    • What is a project?  When does it start?
    • Project life cycle, expenditure rate
    • What is a process?
    • Project deliverables, process groups
  2. Project Management Integration
    • What are integration skills?
    • How to develop a project charter
  3. Managing for Profit-Defining and managing aggregate risk
    • Project portfolio
    • Strategic project management
    • The economics of projects
  4. The Project Management Plan and components
    • Schedule plan
    • Cost management plan
    • Quality plan
    • Procurement plan
    • Human Resource Plan
    • Work Breakdown Structure
    • Schedule baseline
    • Cost performance baseline
  5. Project Scope Management. How to:
    • Acquire the project team
    • Develop the project team
    • Manage the project team
  6. Project Human Resource Management. How to:
    • Identify project stakeholders
    • Understand the communication needs of stakeholders
    • Define the distribution process
    • Communicate project performance information and project quality information
  7. Communication Management. How to:
    • Scheduling
    • Risk Management
    • Interpersonal Skills
  8. Overview of Project:
    • Scheduling
    • Risk Management
    • Interpersonal Skills
MODULE B - Schedule Management-24 Contact Hours
    1. Tools
      • MS Project
      • Visio
      • Excel
    2. Schedule development process
      • Scheduling components
        • Define and estimate activity requirements
        • Establish activity dependencies
        • Forecasting resources
      • Good practices
      • Conformance index
    3. Monitoring and control of schedule performance
  • Project Cost Management-avoiding cost-based schedule delays.  How to
    • Estimate project costs
    • Develop the project budget
    • Manage resources. Resource and cost a schedule in class.
    • Monitor and control cost performance

  1. Project Procurement Management-key to schedule control
    • What percentage of total work is from suppliers?
    • Planning for procurements
    • Selecting qualified sellers
    • Managing the contractual relationships
MODULE C - Risk and Quality Management-24 Contact Hours
    1. Risk Analysis and Response Planning.  How to:
      • Plan risk management
      • Identify risks
      • Perform qualitative risk analysis
      • Perform quantitative risk analysis
  • Risk Communication and Governance.  How to:
      • Plan risk responses and develop a mitigation strategy
      • Implement risk response plans
      • Monitor and control risks
      • Manage risk in procurement
  • Technical Performance Management
      • Defining technical performance measurements
      • Planning for technical risk
      • Scope, technical risk, and quality
  • Project Quality Management
      • Product development
      • Process development.
      • Technical maturity
      • Defining and planning for quality
      • Establishing project quality standards
      • Monitoring and controlling product / project quality
MODULE D - Exam Prep-24 Contact Hours
  • Exam structure
  • Test bank size
  • Efficient studying
  • Question analysis by topic
  • Confounding questions
    • Choose the best answer
    • Excess information supplied
  • Question breakdown by type
    • Math questions
    • Memorization questions
    • Input/output/process questions
    • Concept questions
    • Vignette questions
    • Detail questions
    • General Coverage, all  Project Management Professional (PMP)® and Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® Exam Question areas, including ethics
    • Discuss 200+ questions in class, including analyzing correct and incorrect answers

Class Schedules

Fall/Winter 2020 - Synchronous Monday & Wednesday Evening Classes

Fall/Winter 2020 Synchronous On-Line Evening classes—Lecture Numbers, Dates and Times

Module A: Section 33

  1. Wed., Sep 9 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  2. Mon., Sep 14 | 6:00 pm-9:45 pm
  3. Wed., Sep 16 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  4. Mon., Sep 21 | 6:00 pm-9:45 pm
  5. Wed., Sep 23 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  6. Mon., Sep 28 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  7. Wed., Sep 30 | 6:00-7:50 pm

Module B: Section 33

  1. Wed., Sep 30 | 7:50-9:45 pm
  2. Mon., Oct 5 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  3. Wed., Oct 7 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  4. Mon., Oct 12 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  5. Wed., Oct 14 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  6. Wed., Oct 21 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  7. Mon., Oct 26 | 6:00-9:45 pm

Module C: Section 33

  1. Wed., Oct 28 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  2. Mon., Nov 2 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  3. Wed., Nov 4 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  4. Mon., Nov 9 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  5. Mon., Nov 16 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  6. Wed., Nov 18 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  7. Mon., Nov 23 | 6:00-7:50 pm

Module D-Section 33

  1. Mon., Nov 23 | 7:50-9:45 pm
  2. Mon., Nov 30 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  3. Wed., Dec 2 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  4. Mon., Dec 7 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  5. Wed., Dec 9 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  6. Mon., Dec 14 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  7. Wed., Dec 16 | 6:00-9:45 pm
Winter/Spring 2021 - Synchronous Monday & Wednesday Evening Classes

Winter/Spring 2021 Synchronous On-Line Evening classes—Lecture Numbers, Dates and Times

Module A: Section 34 – Mahwah

  1. Mon., Jan 4 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  2. Wed., Jan 6 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  3. Mon., Jan 11 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  4. Wed., Jan 13 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  5. Wed., Jan 20 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  6. Mon., Jan 25 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  7. Wed., Jan 27 | 6:00-7:50 pm

Module B: Section 34 – Mahwah

  1. Wed., Jan 27 | 7:50-9:45 pm
  2. Wed., Feb 3 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  3. Mon., Feb 8 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  4. Wed., Feb 10 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  5. Wed., Feb 17 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  6. Mon., Feb 22 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  7. Wed., Feb 24 | 6:00-9:45 pm

Module C: Section 34 – Mahwah

  1. Mon., Mar 1 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  2. Wed., Mar 3 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  3. Mon., Mar 8 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  4. Wed., Mar 10 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  5. Mon., Mar 22 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  6. Wed., Mar 24 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  7. Mon., Mar 29| 6:00-7:50 pm

Module D:Section 34 Mahwah

  1. Mon., Mar 29 | 7:50-9:45 pm
  2. Wed., Mar 31 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  3. Wed., Apr 7| 6:00-9:45 pm
  4. Mon., Apr 12 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  5. Wed., Apr 14 | 6:00-9:45 pm
  6. Mon., Apr 19| 6:00-9:45 pm
  7. Wed., Apr 21 | 6:00-9:45 pm

 

Contact


Business Professional Certificate Programs
Anisfield School of Business
Ramapo College of New Jersey
Phone: (201) 684-7370
Fax: (201) 684-7277
E-mail: bus.certs@ramapo.edu

Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM), Project Management Professional (PMP) and PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP) are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.